Interviews, interviews, interviews

interview-1018333_1920
Source: Pixabay

We’re coming to the end of week 9 (I think, who can even keep track anymore?) and I’ve been spending a lot of time interviewing people! I’m really starting to see how beneficial these experiences are. At first, I was a little apprehensive about carrying out the interviews, but it was great to step out of my comfort zone a little, and I think so far they have been a success! Technical writers obviously spend a lot of time communicating with subject matter experts, so it’s an important skill to practice. 

This week I had my interviews for my RM6011 proposal, in which I propose an online resource for UL students. I interviewed a staff member from the library, and a staff member from the Writing Centre. I am still amazed and so grateful that people are willing to give their time to help me in my studies. Both interviews went great, and I came away with a lot more clarity around some things (and a lot of questions about others!). I’m looking forward to processing the interviews as I write up my proposal. When I recorded my usability tests last semester, I didn’t fully trust my phone’s recording app. This time around, I used an app called Voice Recorder, and I was very happy with. I was able to easily upload the recordings to Google Drive straight from the app. 

As a result of the interviews, I’ve started thinking a lot more about how I might present my lessons. This is mostly summer’s problem, but I guess there’s no harm in considering it now. While I already anticipate using Dreamweaver and Animate CC, I’ve started looking at options such as screencasting (e.g. Screencast-O-Matic) and video animation software (e.g. Moovly)for some parts. Based on my audience survey, interactivity is going to be key. 

My interviewing days aren’t over yet! On Tuesday, I am taking a field trip over to Mary I to interview an educational technologist for TW5212. I have all my questions ready to go, and I have sent them over to the interviewee so he can have some time to consider them beforehand. Other than the fact that I’m obviously going to get lost in Mary I, the interview should be a fantastic experience! 

Now, hurry up Easter  🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

